Paths and Plants

Now that we’ve made all of our garden beds with our recent dirt delivery, the fight against weeds and grass is in full-swing. I put the word out to a few local tree service companies that I am interested in a load of wood chips to use for our garden paths, but so far I’ve either been added to a long waiting list or not received a response.

As a temporary measure, I purchased twenty coffee bean sacks from the ReUse Store in Ballard. They are cheap (50 cents each), biodegradable, and a great weed/grass blocker that also allows water to penetrate.

I had enough to nearly cover all of the main pathways. I didn’t put any down at the main entrance of the garden because it’s already a high traffic area, so there’s not much green there already.

I also took the opportunity to start adding some stone features to the garden. The stone was another free Craigslist find–leftovers from a stonescape company that looked like treasures to me. Most of the stone will be used on the paths as places to step or stand, but I also added a few smaller, interesting pieces to some of the beds. I really want this garden to not only be functional, productive, and sustainable, but also visually appealing.

IMG_5600Now that the soil is in place, we’ve also started planting seeds, a few favorite plants that we’ve purchased, and any freebies we can find. There’s hardly a free plant that I’ll turn down, believing that you can always move or remove it later.

Shasta Daisies and Hens & Chicks

Shasta Daisies and Hens & Chicks

My favorite piece of stone.

My favorite piece of stone.

 

Gotta have lilacs!

Gotta have lilacs!

Rhubarb from a friend's garden.

Rhubarb from a friend’s garden.

I got some daffodils on the cheap because they're past their prime this season. But they'll be great next year, and also serve as a nitrogen fixer and deer deterrent for the fruit trees.

I got some daffodils on the cheap because they’re past their prime this season. But they’ll be great next year, and also serve as a nitrogen fixer and deer deterrent for the fruit trees.

Our lettuce, carrot, and snap pea seeds are starting to sprout.

Our lettuce, carrot, and snap pea seeds are starting to sprout.

This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment